It’s the most wonderful time of the year.

Fall is quickly approaching and I think everyone is ready for it to get here. I mean Starbucks has even released their Pumpkin Spice Latte early this year. Pumpkin flavored treats in the Fall is a huge trend that seems to reappear every year. I feel like an even bigger trend every Fall is people complaining about pumpkin flavored treats. Yes, every bakery, restaurant and cafe comes out with some pumpkin themed products once September and October roll around, even McDonald’s has their own pumpkin spice drink now, but I see no problem with it what-so-ever. For me, that flavor reminds me of home. I have so many childhood memories tied to pumpkin pie. And I’m sure it’s not just me, pumpkin is a comfort food for many people.

More and more people in the culinary world are really starting to experiment with that little squash. I decided to comprise a list of my favorite pumpkin recipes.

1. Pumpkin Dream Cake

Pumpkin-Dream-Cake-1-sm

2. Snickerdoodles with pumpkin cream cheese filling.

tmp_1329319223537_61_2012-02-15_09-22-14_923

3. Pumpkin Cheesecake

32230lrg

Last but definitely not least and my personal favorite:

4. Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Chai Spiced Cream Cheese Filling.

IMG_8110

These four recipes are incredibly delicious. Bring them to any holiday party and you’re bound to be the most popular person there. Everyone is going to want to be your friend after they get a taste of these goodies.

Another big trend once fall rolls around is pumpkin beer. Most people think it’s a modern creation but it has been around since the early 1800’s. It’s really hard to find a decent pumpkin ale these days. I’ve gone through my fair share trying to find one that is pumpkin enough without being too artificially flavored. My personal favorite is the one put out by Blue Moon. Their Harvest Moon Pumpkin Ale is a great balance of flavors. If any of you know of any other great beers, please do let me know.

Happy pumpkining!

Leave a Reply

